

Issued: March 11, 2020

This notification is to advise that as a result of the presidential proclamation, the United States government imposed the following additional entry requirements that take effect March 13, 2020, after 11:59 p.m. ET.

Any U.S. citizen or lawful U.S. permanent resident returning to the United States who has traveled to one of the Schengen Area countries within the previous 14 days must enter the United States through an approved airport. American Airlines customers will be rebooked, if necessary, to one of those approved airports by our Reservations and Airport teams.

Foreign nationals who have traveled to one of the Schengen Area countries within the last 14 days will be denied permission to travel to the United States.

These entry requirements are in addition to those imposed by the presidential proclamation on March 2 and Jan. 31, which restricted entry to the U.S. from Iran and mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) respectively.

American continues to work closely with U.S. authorities to comply with these new orders while treating all of our customers with respect. American is committed to taking care of any affected customers by assisting them with rebooking options. Our team is proactively reaching out to customers who may be affected by these travel restrictions to ensure they are accommodated.

Important information for you and our mutual customers

When do these orders go into effect?

These orders apply to all flights departing for the United States after 11:59 p.m. ET on March 13. It does not apply to flights that depart prior to 11:59 p.m. ET on March 13.

Which countries are part of the Schengen Area?

Twenty-six countries are part of the Schengen Area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The United Kingdom and Ireland are not part of the Schengen Area.

American currently serves seven airports in five countries within the Schengen Area, including France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland.

Which airports in the Schengen Area does American currently serve?

Four flights: Paris(CDG) via Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW), Miami (MIA), New York City (JFK) and Philadelphia (PHL)

Two flights: Frankfurt (FRA) via Charlotte (CLT) and DFW

One flight: Munich (MUC) via CLT One flight: Amsterdam (AMS) via PHL

Two flights: Barcelona (BCN) via MIA and JFK

Four flights: Madrid (MAD) via DFW, MIA, JFK and PHL

One flight: Zurich (ZRH) via PHL

Is Italy one of the five countries that American serves?

Yes. However, American previously announced that it suspended service to Italy. Additional details are available on <u>Saleslink.aa.com</u> > Reduction/Suspension of Service.

Does American serve other destinations in Europe?

Yes, American has seasonal service to six other countries in Europe, but that service has not commenced yet.

The United Kingdom and Ireland are not part of the Schengen Area.

What can our mutual customer expect when flying American?

Prior to boarding an American Airlines flight departing to the United States, all customers will be asked if they have visited a country within the Schengen Area, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the last 14 days. If a



customer traveled to a country within the Schengen Area, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the previous 14 days and is authorized to travel, they must enter the United States through an approved airport.

Foreign nationals who have visited a country within the Schengen Area, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the last 14 days will be denied permission to travel to the United States.

What airports are approved entry points for customers entering the United States if the customer has visited a country within the Schengen Area, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the last 14 days? ATL, DFW, DTW, EWR, HNL, JFK, LAX, ORD, SEA, SFO, IAD

Atlanta: Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL)
Dallas-Fort Worth: Dallas Fort Worth International Airport (DFW)

Detroit: Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW)

Newark, New Jersey: Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)

Honolulu: Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL)
New York City: John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK)
Los Angeles: Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
Chicago: Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD)

Chicago: Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD)
Seattle: Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA)
San Francisco: San Francisco International Airport (SFO)

Washington, D.C.: Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD)

What if a customer is authorized to travel, but is scheduled to arrive at a non-approved airport?

If a customer traveled to a Schengen area country, Iran or mainland China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) within the previous 14 days and is authorized to travel, but is scheduled to arrive at a non-approved airport, American will help reroute the customer to one of the approved airports

Should customers arrive at international airports early?

We encourage customers departing for the United States to arrive at the airport three hours early as we expect this additional screening will lengthen the check-in process.

Who should customers contact if they need help changing their travel plans as a result of the travel restriction? Customers should contact their original booking provider.

Our <u>Newsroom</u> remains the best place to receive the latest updates on the evolving Coronavirus situation and its potential impacts.

This information as well as other updates and policies related to the Coronavirus can also be found on SalesLink by viewing:

Latest Communication Updates

As always, we appreciate your continued business! Sincerely,

agency Relations

American Airlines Global Sales